Beach Holidays in France - home page


"As an independent Lettings Expert working for an award winning UK based holiday company, it is my job to visit gites and holiday homes to evaluate their suitability as child friendly holiday destinations. I am so impressed with the location, design and facilities at these properties, they have included everything possible to ensure that children of all ages (and Mums and Dads too) have a wonderful holiday - they really do have it all!"

A sincere and HUGE thank you to all our guests who have taken the time to write to us about their holiday experience at our home.  As you can imagine we are just thrilled again to receive so many wonderful comments and it really does make it worth getting up every morning....!!!

A selection of our 5* 'Trip Advisor'​​​​ Guest Reviews


Great Family Holiday - Le Palmier is truly the perfect, ready to use, family home from home with plenty to explore nearby. Deserves a minimum of 2 weeks to appreciate it fully. Our 6, 5 and 1 year olds were so excited when we arrived and then on visiting the centre of the village, beaches, La Rochelle and going horse riding locally. We became great friends with our holiday neighbours and are going to keep in touch and meet up back in the UK. Everything was perfect, the cleanliness of the house, the kids toys, and we certainly recommend Le Palmier to other families with kids. Overall Excellent + holiday and we hope to return soon as this was exactly what we were aiming for from this holiday - Merci Beaucoup! Mrs M from London - September 2018

Perfect family-oriented house with everything provided - Le Palmier is the ideal blend of good location, great amenities, space and a relaxed family home. The fact that the owners make booking, preparing and staying there so straightforward and efficient ensures we had one of our best holidays for some time. We chose Le Palmier given the broad age range of our children from 2 to 15 and the house catered for all of us exceptionally well. The website is easy to navigate and with lots of detail including a layout which always creates confidence in choosing a place. It would help to have the exact location on a map although was not difficult to find with a little research. Making the booking was made easy mainly by Donna and her team's input. While not afraid to book entirely online, I find having personal interaction via email and phone reassuring and makes the process simpler. Instructions were simple and easy to understand. The village hosted a range of evening entertainment on the green through the week we stayed. The house is well maintained and was very clean. Lots of towels and bedding available and the kitchen has plenty of equipment. The feel is very comfortable and homely which made it a very relaxing environment for everyone. With the large amount of space available it took no time at all for everyone to settle in and it felt like home very quickly. Seating is comfortable and well looked after and the decor is well maintained and welcoming. In summary, we would highly recommend Le Palmier and expect to return. Mr S from Bristol - August 2018

Location perfect - We’ve just retuned from an unforgettable stay at Les Palmier.  We visited all the local attractions, water-park, chateaux adventure park, forest adventure and water jump park.  Our only complaint is that we didn’t book for two weeks!  Def recommend a two week stay here as there is so much to do. The house was perfectly set up for families with kids and the local beaches around 10 mins away. The village was just a couple of minutes walk away which was perfect to grab a pizza from the Trattoria once we got back from a fun day out. Overall perfect holiday, perfect location and perfect hosts - thanks Donna and Jay x
Mr and Mrs N from Cambridge - August 2018

Fabulous family holiday! - Donna was extremely welcoming, friendly and super efficient during the whole process. We felt very reasured that all would be taken care of particularly as Donna was so genuinely interested in making our holiday go smoothly. The team were wonderful immediately helped when TV briefly stopped working! Loved Le Palmier as it worked perfectly for us with grand parents, plenty of space to escape each other :) Loved the village with excellent butchers for our evening BBQ's. Tom loved the bakery, village cafe, La Trattoria restaurant in the village is superb! Fab beaches nearby, Chateau adventure park was great and there is so much to do locally. Hard to think of anything you can improve on as we all had such a great time. Thank you very much for a wonderful week and see you again soon . Mrs F from Manchester - July 2018

Great organised and personal company - The electronic guidebook we received prior to our arrival was unbelievably helpful and very professional. It listed lots of great information on the villa and the area so we were able to start our holiday and explore immediately and not find all the best bits on our last day, which has happed before!  Donna (the owner) phoned us prior to arrival to make sure we had everything we needed and answered our last minute questions. The personal touches were very thoughtful and very much appreciated - thank you. The area was amazing so much to do. The staff were great and also on hand if ever we needed them - we didn’t!  The weather was amazing and we spend many an evening on the terrace enjoying a BBQ (great butchers in the village btw)
Really one of our best holiday ever - def have our vote :) 

Mrs G from Surrey - July 2018 Great place for all ages - Having children aged 6-14 all ages were cater for at Le Palmier. The layout of the house meant there was space for everyone. There was no equipment needed, absolutely everything was here! Beaches were fab, Les Conches was great for sand and waves. Angles village was just right, superb bakery. Le Palmier was exceptionally clean inside and well maintained outside. Donna was really friendly from the point of booking to our arrival. The welcome note, wine was thoughtful and we would thoroughly recommend. Mr and Mrs R from Devon - July 2018

Loved by all the family - We had a super one week stay at Le Palmier this June - The weather was just glorious, the pool so warm and the nearby beaches perfect. We spent most of our time to be honest by the pool as the kid were so happy to be there. The amount of great toys and games supplied really made it so easy to keep the kids entertained every day. Really, relaxing holiday for us all. We especially enjoyed the BBQ’s on the terrace followed by a few glasses of local wine (picked up at the 'cave' in the village 2euros a bottle!!) - it really was the perfect end to the perfect day, everyday! Great ‘relaxed’ family holiday at Le Palmier, thanks.

Mrs T from London - June 2018

Wonderful 1st family Holiday - Just a quick line to thank you for everything you helped us with on our recent stay in Le Palmier.  This being our first family holiday with our twin girls aged 18months, I was a tad nervous.  Donna, you were wonderful and really went that extra mile to make sure all was ready and waiting for us - two high chairs, two travel cots etc. etc. I can't recommend Donna and her team high enough.  All the thoughtful personal touches were super and the bottle of wine on arrival, very much appreciated, lol.  Thanks again and hope to see you next year. 
​Mrs W from London - June 2018 Great stay in Le Palmier - We choose Le Palmier on the great reviews we had read on line and were not disappointed. It was very spacious and exactly as described. The toys at the house kept the kids entertained for hours and the security around the pool was very reassuring and made for a relaxing holiday for us parents. The village of Angles was super cute and we loved walking down each morning with the kids to get breakfast. We highly recommend Le Palmier and will be back. Mr and Mrs S from Kingston - May 2018 We have loved our stay at Le Palmier. Donna and Jay have thought of EVERYTHING so even with really young children you could just arrive and not need to bring a thing!  The house is really well kitted out and works perfectly for 2 families sharing - or more if you take more than one property.  There were lovely welcome touches on arrival - wine, kinds names on chalkboard, fresh flowers etc.  The pool is lovely and perfect for kids - safe and warm (and us grown ups loved the hot tub!) The village location is great as you can walk to the bakery every morning.  There is tons to do in the area and access to trusted babysitters is excellent!  Finally, the Xbox made our holiday for our 7yr old who doesn't have one at home.  The huge amount of DVD's also meant, on a wet morning, it wasn't an issue to keep them entertained.  Thank you for a lovely week, we definitely recommend Le Palmier. ​Mrs F from Henley on Thames - September 2017 The location of Le Palmier is fantastic! The beaches are brilliant for the kids and they loved the house and pool. Le Palmier is a nice size for our party (mum, dad, 2 kids and visiting grandparents) The staff looking after us were very friendly and the house was spotless on arrival with excellent toys/games ready and waiting for the kids. We had an excellent holiday and very much appreciated the security around the pool area. Mr and Mrs G from London - August 2017 Wonderful family holiday! - Really couldn't fault anything at Le Palmier! We have had a really lovely relaxed week. It has been really super and the wine, welcome note and flowers on arrival really was a lovely touch. The kids also loved the treasure hunt too. The house was perfectly clean, the housekeepers very friendly, the beds were really comfortable and the attention to details was excellent. The house was as described and we would definitely recommend Mrs S from London - August 2017 Lovely house a real home from home - The local village of Angles is a very short walk and has all amenities with lovely bakery for fresh pastries which we had every morning! Nearest supermarket not even 5 minute drive away. Pool lovely and clean and safely fenced and a good depth for children who are getting their water confidence. Lots of local activities with a drive of an hour or less. The hosts and the "meters and greeters" were lovely very helpful and kind. The property was spotless. All you need is yourselves! Ms V from London - July 2017 We have loved our stay at Le Palmier - The house was well set up for our three families, each with a toddler (all under 2!) The property was superbly equipped with everything we needed​. There are plenty of days out in the area - we enjoyed the beach at La Tranche sur Mer, and the aquarium in La Rochelle was great. Definitely recommend, the personal touches for our arrival were excellent. Mr and Mrs D from London - July 2017Great for a family with young children - We have had a lovely week in Le Palmier, this it the BEST equipped place we have ever stayed in, particularly for children. Huge selection of toys was fabulous! Great to know kids are happy and safe due to the secure garden/fenced pool area. The house itself is lovely - great to have a good supply of things in the he kitchen (which is not always the case when self-catering) oils/spices/herbs etc in the kitchen cupboards and a great selection of books/DVD's in the sitting room. Very nice decor and luxury feel 'home from home' for me. We really liked having the town in walking distance and lots of things to visit nearby. Overall excellent holiday, very friendly staff, comfy beds, and property as described. Definitely recommend Le Palmier Mr G from Manchester - June 2017 ​ Perfect family holiday at Le Palmier - We were genuinely impressed by this Gite. We traveled with 2 young kids, and their grandparents and this catered for all. The Gite itself was clean and really well laid out, had bags of stuff for the kids and stuck the perfect balance between a relaxing place for the grown ups, and a place where the kids could let loose. We loved the welcome basket and the personal message for our kids, made them feel really special, a really nice touch. The team were really helpful and attentive, without being intrusive...not an easy balance to strike. The Gite was really well placed for us with loads to do with the kids nearby. We didn't want to spend loads of time in the car, but we visited the beach, a chateau with a dinosaur attraction, local restaurants, the marina and loads more, all within easy reach. The recommendations in the welcome pack are really good, we would certainly recommend using them. We loved the pool area and the hot tub, and our kids made friends with the family in the next Gite, which was great. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, we loved it and we would definitely go back. Mr T from Northampton - June 2017 Wonderful family holiday - Really couldn't fault anything at Le Palmier! We have had a really lovely relaxed week. It has been really super and the wine, welcome note and flowers on arrival really was a lovely touch.  The kids also loved the treasure hunt too. The house was perfectly clean, the housekeepers very friendly, the beds were really comfortable and the attention to details was excellent. The house was as described and we would definitely recommend. ​Mrs S from London - June 2017 Everything was excellent and as described at Le Palmier. Angles and La Tranche sur Mer are lovely places to wonder around. Local pharmacy in Angles excellent, they speak and understand English and can organise anything! The team were amazing, very helpful and friendly. The house was very clean with great toys and my children played with them all week. Lots to do withing the area. Welcome hamper very good as some shops closed on Sunday afternoons. Pool lovely and safe - perfect depth for all children. Mrs J from London - June 2017 ​Perfect family holiday - We were genuinely impressed by this Gite. We traveled with 2 young kids, and their grandparents and this catered for all. The Gite itself was clean and really well laid out, had bags of stuff for the kids and stuck the perfect balance between a relaxing place for the grown ups, and a place where the kids could let loose. We loved the welcome basket and the personal message for our kids, made them feel really special, a really nice touch. The team were really helpful and attentive, without being intrusive...not an easy balance to strike. The Gite was really well placed for us with loads to do with the kids nearby. We didn't want to spend loads of time in the car, but we visited the beach, a chateau with a dinosaur attraction, local restaurants, the marina and loads more, all within easy reach. The recommendations in the welcome pack are really good, we would certainly recommend using them. We loved the pool area and the hot tub, and our kids made friends with the family in the next Gite, which was great. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, we loved it and we would definitely go back. ​Mr T from Edinburgh - May 2017 This is a great house to relax in and enjoy with the family - We had fabulous weather the week we were there so spent most of the time at the beaches and out cycling. The house was really very comfortable to come back to each evening - beds amazing, decor very nice, excellent equipped kitchen, more like 'home from home' really. The toys supplied for the kids are amazing. Our kids (girls 4yrs & boy 2yrs) were so happy all week. Our daughter loved the dressing up clothes and even wore one of them out to dinner one night! The pool was fabulous and it was so nice to be able to let the kids play in the garden and not worry if they could get into the pool area as it was fully fenced. It was nice to know someone was on hand should we need them (which we didn't of course). We highly recommend Le Palmier and the personal touches for our arrival were very much appreciated too - thank you. We highly recommend this villa to any family. Mr & Mrs G from Aberdeen - May 2017 We've had a fantastic stay and everything was just perfect at Le Palmier. The children thoroughly enjoyed all the toys and details of the stay which was just for them. Our best family holiday yet! Thank you. ​ Mrs B from West Yorkshire - May 2017 The perfect Easter getaway - the weather was just amazing, hot hot hot! We spent everyday on the beach (incredible to believe in April, but true) and they were amazing, clean, sandy and fairly empty. We loved the house, it was so comfortable and Donna and Jay made us feel so at home. Thank you for all the little touches, they were so very much appreciated. Great house, great hosts and great area - we will be back Mrs F from Surrey - April 2017 Perfect for families, fresh croissants, huge sandy beaches, great hosts! - We really enjoyed our stay at La Palmier. The first thing that struck us on arrival was the massive welcome pack of food and treats with ice cold bubbles to wash it down!! Our kids (1 & 3) were wowed by the amount of toys and dressing up clothes. The hosts had hung up 4 outfits of the correct size for my daughter to wear, Cinderella, snow white, queen elsa etc, anyone with a 3 1/2 year old daughter will know how much joy that will bring. And a matching pair of shoes for each outfit! As for Harry (1 3/4) he just went crazy for the train set which had been all set up and was ready for use. We literally didn't see them for the first two hours which is almost unheard of. The house itself has got all mod cons and is finished with lots of lovely touches to make it feel like a home from home. The 'heated' pool is great, shallow area for the little ones and deeper for the adults then afterwards straight into the hot tub! They take pool safety very carefully which helped us relax, fully fenced all round. There is also a sauna. Every day one of us would take a short walk to the bakers to pick up fresh bread and croissants - fantastic. You are a short drive from lots of beaches which are all big, sandy and when we were there, almost empty which was great. Plenty of good places to eat in Angles for the family and fine dining in the surrounding villages if like us you take the grandparents to babysit. Loads of activities nearby for all ages but we spent most days trying out all the different beaches. We look forward to returning to Angles and can't thank Donna and Jay enough for being such good hosts. Mr and Mrs A from Oxford - September 2016 ​Amazing holiday superb location and house - We have had the most amazing holiday at Le Palmier this September. We got exactly what we booked with lots of extra ‘wow’ moments. The property had nothing missing, if we thought of it, we found it! We visited most of the local beaches, which was the best option for our 2 year old twins as a lot of the attractions were a little bit too old for them. We would recommend a visit to La Rochelle and the aquarium. We definitely recommend Le Palmier and our twins have had the most amazing start to their holiday experience. There were more toys than they knew what to do with and they settled in the second we arrived. This property would be excellent for 2 families to share. We took my parents and there was more than enough room for us all. Donna and Jay were the best hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The village is lovely with some wonderful hidden treasure's to discover. I can personally recommend the cakes from the bakery! It will be so hard to top next year! Lovely place, lovely people, thank you thank you thank you. The best compliment I can pay is my children were so disappointed to come home they spent 2 days asking to go back! Mrs A from London - September 2016 ​Lovely family holiday - The process from initial enquiry to arrival was outstanding and any request we made (and we made a few!) was handled perfectly. The property itself is of a good size and made for easy living style for the eight people in our group. There is a great range of actives nearby and its lovely to have the pool at the property. The amount of play equipment and entertainment for all ages is also outstanding. The outside space wasn’t as large as we had thought, but it’s well set out with a great range of facilities. The property is designed and marketed perfect for families with children so it was right up our street. We had a great holiday at Le Palmier – thank you ​Mr H from London – September 2016 Amazing holiday for everyone! - We've stayed at Le Palmier for two years now, and we couldn't recommend it highly enough! There were 4 children under five in our party (!) and the facilities are excellent. Extremely friendly owners too, who help make sure that everything is going to plan. Everyone had an amazing time. Mr R from North Yorkshire – August 2016 All equipment supplied at Le Palmier was very good, and the personal visit on Monday to check we were all settled in was great and much appreciated. Excellent attention to detail from the team, house spotless on arrival and the number of toys supplied again excellent.  Mrs J from Surrey – August 2016 Booking was straight forward and friendly. We were amazed by the huge range of interesting bits and pieces for the kids in the house. The pool is a great size, very safe and clean.  We needed a little technical help and got it straight away.  We have never received such consistently friendly and 'family feel' service which was from the whole team - all people who clearly take pride and love what they do. The welcome message on the chalk board was a great idea. We had an excellent holiday at Le Palmier and would definitely recommend this holiday home Mrs W form Hampshire – August 2016 We stayed at La Palmier mid July with our parents to celebrate our little girls 1st birthday. In total there was 5 adults and a one year old. The booking process was done with ease and we were provided with plenty of information prior to our arrival, for example - directions, local attractions, restaurants, shops, etc. Following the directions and finding Le Palmier all worked well and obtaining the key for entry was done with ease. The little touches that had been done for our arrival were lovely - a dog teddy sat in the high chair with a high chair rattle, towels laid out nicely, bottle of wine and welcome card, blackboard decorated wishing our little girl a happy 1st birthday! We wish the team all the very best for any future plans for what is a very good holiday concept for families. Thank you for having us and making our little girls first birthday a memorable one. Mr K from London – July 2016 The facilities in the gite are excellent, and the kitchen is vvvv well stocked. It has everything perfectly set up for a family with small children. It has air-conditioning in some of the bedrooms (which we occasionally used as it was quite hot some days for us!). The pool is very secure and fenced and a great lock (which takes some doing to undo), very safe for young children. There is SO much to do in the area, we barely scratched the surface. The beaches are amazing. TBH, we had to literally drag the children kicking and screaming away from our shared pool to the beach. The property was spotless when we arrived. The rental company has a separate company which will, for a reasonable fee, provide some extras for your holiday, such as a first holiday 'essentials' shop welcome pack (e.g. bread, milk, etc), beach towels, clean every day, provide bikes, etc etc, early checkin (this is 5pm). They had laid out age appropriate toys and dressing up clothes (there were TWO wardrobes full!!) for the children. My son was in heaven with the trains! See the picture of the chalk board outside. A lovely personal touch! We thought the toys and selection of DVDs was brilliant! It is an absolutely fantastic place for a family holiday. Mrs R from Wiltshire – July 2016 We have all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Le Palmier and have been impressed with the facilities and attention to detail for families with young children. The children’s toys and equipment have just made our stay so easy. The space in Le Palmier is good for two families with two separate 'wings'. We went to the Indian Forest and Chateau of Adventures – both were very good for young children. Also beaches – Le Tranche sur Mer, La Terriere, L’Aiguillon sur Mer, near the zoo at Les Sables d’Olonne – all worked very well with accessible car parking for cars with roof racks. The cleanliness of the property, the attention to detail from the villa assistants and all the information supplied in the property was all excellent. The property was as described, we had an excellent holiday and would certainly recommend. Mrs W London – July 2016 Lovely relaxing holiday at Le Palmier - Toys have been fantastic, excellent range supplied - loved playing with them all. The pool safety has been excellent as has the friendliness from all staff and the attention to detail from the housekeepers. The property was as described and the sales team and information supplied at the property brilliant. Thank you for everything, it really was brilliant! We were so lucky with the weather and everyone had a great time Mrs M from London – June 2016 Overall a great holiday at Le Palmier helped very much by the fabulous weather Mrs B from The Midlands – June 2016 2nd year returns – and again Le Palmier did not disappoint. Another excellent family holiday, excellent service from the team, helpful and friendly and we all loved the new upgrades and improvements you did over winter. See you all in 2017 :) Mrs M from Hertfordshire – June 2016 The process from initial enquiry to arrival was outstanding and any request we made (and we made a few!) was handled perfectly. The property itself is of a good size and made for easy living style for the eight people in our group.  There is a great range of actives nearby and its lovely to have the pool at the property.  The amount of play equipment and entertainment for all ages is also outstanding. The property is designed and marketed perfect for families with children so it was right up our street. We had a great holiday at Le Palmier – thank you Mr H from London – June 2016 We had an enjoyable week here, nice quiet place and would recommend this place to our friends. Mrs H – Kent – May 2016 We stayed here for a week in September, and had a wonderful holiday, spending time relaxing and exploring the local area. We found the booking process to be very easy and the information provided both upfront and in the house was excellent. The property was as described and we were really pleased with all the children’s equipment and toys provided – it makes packing much easier! Our 20-month old daughter with thrilled with the toys and couldn’t contain her excitement on seeing the doll’s house and dolls pushchair – both firm favourites for the duration of the holiday! The outdoor chalkboard was also a big hit for her. The property was generally very well equipped and there was nothing that we felt was 'missing'. All in all, a great family holiday, and we would recommend. Mrs A from Batley - September 2015 ​ My stay at Le Palmier was an amazing experience, the premises was well maintained and staff were very polite and helpful. The outdoor pool, facilities were excellent and the surrounding area had all the necessary amenities available. I would certainly recommend staying and enjoying the wonderful experience at Le Palmier. Miss S from Bath - September 2015 We stayed here during early September and thankfully the weather was tremendous. If you are thinking of coming to this region of France then you are looking at the perfect place to stay. Booking this holiday home was straightforward with polite and courteous staff.  We flew to La Rochelle which is a delightful little airport about an hour from the village of Angles. It's a straight forward drive to the village on pleasant quiet roads and we soon reached our home for the next week. We had been given the code for the key box outside the property and we were absolutely amazed with the property. Firstly, it was spotless! The décor was certainly to our taste and was furnished perfectly. The ex farmhouse was also very well equipped. The kitchen was amazing and we also saw that the holiday home was perfect for children with lots of play materials and a really safe and secure pool area. The outdoor space was great too with plenty of space for us and certainly for much bigger groups. The pool was soon christened and a nice relaxing evening was welcome after the earlier travelling. Staff (who were all English speaking) came to visit us on our second day and checked if we were happy with everything. They gave us lots of very useful information and kept our holiday home spotless throughout the week.  During the week we got to know the area much better and it was great that the centre of the village was a short walk away. There were a few restaurants and shops where you can get the basics. There was a supermarket about a mile away which had everything we needed. There is lots to do in the area with great safe beaches where there was lots of space. Indian Forest was a great day out with some hilarious antics in the trees. (Think Go Ape on steroids). We retraced our steps mid-way through our stay and spent the day in the ancient city of La Rochelle. Wow the history was immense. It was great to see the place where the Knights Templars had a stronghold in the 12th Century. It was also interesting to discover that La Rochelle was under English rule around 1200. There are great restaurants and shopping in the city too.  The rest of our stay was a mixture of visiting nearby towns and villages and relaxing. Thanks to Vicky and her team for making our holiday so enjoyable. Perfect! Mr R from Evesham - September 2015 Our stay at Le Palmier has been excellent in every way.  We loved the property, the space, layout, facilities and general feel. The house was very clean and the attention to detail from the staff excellent.  The swimming pool area and garden was also excellent. The owner and the hospitality team were really helpful and friendly.  It was great having toys and outdoor play equipment for the kids and James is now addicted to Wii fit/sports!  We’ve had some brilliant days by the lovely pool and at the beach. We would definitely recommend this holiday to family and friends – thank you.   ​Mrs E from Leamington Spa - September 2015 Le Palmier is lovely - had everything needed for a family including great novels!  Pre-arrival travel pack was very helpful so we knew what games or toys we needed. The villa assistants were very friendly and their local knowledge very helpful. Very thoughtful to bring round baking supplies when we had one day of rain. The personal call prior to our arrival from the owner was very much appreciated. We felt the property was exactly as described and we would certainly recommend Le Palmier to other travellers.  Mr and Mrs Y from Sheffield - August 2015Amazing attention to detail for families with young childrenWe have all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Le Palmier and have been impressed with the facilities and attention to detail for families with young children.  The children’s toys and equipment have just made our stay so easy. The space in Le Palmier is good for two families with two separate “wings”. We went to the Indian Forest and Chateau of Adventures – both were very good for young children. Also beaches – Le Tranche sur Mer, La Terriere, L’Aiguillon sur Mer, near the zoo at Les Sables d’Olonne – all worked very well with accessible car parking for cars with roof racks.  The cleanliness of the property, the attention to detail from the villa assistants and all the information supplied in the property was all excellent.  The property was as described and we would certainly recommend.  ​ Mrs W from Dorking - August 2015 A wonderful holiday at Le Palmier especially loved that everything you can possibly need was here!  Even the little things like salt/pepper tin foil etc.  Great location and lovely village. Excellent service by yourselves, thank you so much.   The web-site information, sales team service and booking process was excellent as was the cleanliness of the property, the attention to detail, friendliness and helpfulness of the villa assistants. Tony and Rhiannon are fab! Thank you so much guys. Le Palmier was as described on the web-site and we would recommend.  A week wasn't long enough! Mr and Mrs H from York -  July 2015 ​ Sales Team Service - Excellent The booking Process - Excellent Pre-arrival call from owner - Excellent Attention to detail from the villa assistant - Excellent Friendliness and helpfulness of the villa assistant - Excellent Children's toys/play equipment supplied - Excellent Information supplied at Le Palmier - Excellent Maintenance support team - Excellent Cleanliness of swimming pool - Excellent Le Palmier was as described on the website We would recommend Mr and Mrs B from St Albans - July 2015   Awesome Holiday - Had a great stay at La Palmier with my young children. The weather was fabulous which meant lots of time spent in the pool! The village was beautiful with a great selection of restaurants (all of which we sampled during our week away). There were several beaches just a short drive away which were all beautiful.  The villa assistants were more than helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. We wouldn't hesitate to go back here in the future or to recommend to our friends and family. We really enjoyed the Vendee and will certainly return again in the future! ​Mrs A from Ireland - July 2015 Having been renting houses in France for 25 years, we have become wary of promotional claims! However, Le Palmier accommodated our group of 5 with an age range of 18 months to 79 years (4 generations) very comfortably and with great facilities all on essentially one level. The highlights were the heated pool, properly fenced, the garden, likewise and the overall size and decor of the property, totally suitable for a busy 18-month old boy but allowing the adults to relax as well. Equally good were the booking process, the help with travel arrangements and the local team, who were there to clean and tidy even more than we had expected. The fact that we re-booked within two weeks of returning home says it all :) Mr M from Herts - June 2015 ​ The couple looking after us, Tony and Rhiannon couldn't have done anymore to make our stay more enjoyable. They were full of information, were always happy to help and were great with the kids. The 'teddy hide and seek' and teddy's reading goodnight stories were a big hit with the kids. The children's toys were great and the DVD & children's book library are excellent. The pool is kept really well and the triple locked pool gates give peace of mind for us adults. Our kids loved the pool, parc du dunes, the aquarium @ La Rochelle & the zoo at Les Sables ​(in that order!) Mrs A from Ireland - June 2015 Excellent family holiday, would be happy to repeat The booking and holiday preparation was impressive, and re assuring, with great attention to detail in the "information pack" and on line.Le Palmier was just the venue for the family holiday "4 generations". On arrival the house was spotless, the lounge and kitchen provided a great atmosphere with adequate cooking facilities which enabled our grandson chef to provide excellent meals. The TV, DVDs, books and toys were just what was wanted for the children. Angles provided our breakfast requirements with the beach and town of La Tranche Sur Mer close by. Local staff kept the garden and pool very clean, and attended to our needs. A good holiday, well worth repeating Mr and Mrs T from Cheltenham - May 2015 The booking and pre-arrival service were excellent. We had all the information we needed to find the property. The selection of toys was brilliant, and the cleaning was great.  We loved the personalised messages left, that was a lovely touch. Best places we visited were La Rochelle, Ile de Re and the Indian Forest. Thank you for an excellent holiday.  Mr and Mrs V from Jersey - May 2015

 

Easy booking process and easy to find via sat Nav.  Excellent village and beautiful area – we really enjoyed the beach at La Tranche and the seafood on offer throughout the area. The property was a good size, and the kitchen equipment to a very high standard – both for children and adults. The pool area was fantastic and really well laid out – the landscaping was really well looked after and the housekeepers were so lovely and BBQ was great and worked really well. 

Mrs L from London - September 2014

 

The secure garden and pool is fantastic. We all loved the swing ball and the kids table and chairs. The sales team, the booking process, the cleanliness of the house and the attention to detail from the housekeepers was ‘excellent’

Mrs N from London - August 2014

 
Very clean property. Thoughtfully laid out for the children upon arrival. Home from home – many thanks, overall holiday experience ‘Excellent’ 

Mrs S from Essex - August 2014

 

The booking process and pre arrival information was very good and we thought the personal pre arrival call from the owner was excellent. There was a good selection of toys and equipment for the kids and the secure pool is fantastic as it means the kids could play in the garden unsupervised. The support and assistance from the villa assistants has been excellent – thank you.  We have really enjoyed our holiday at Le Pamlier.

Mr and Mrs H from Edinburgh - July 2014

 

Booking process was very easy, sales team very helpful and information supplied very thorough.  Our resort mangers were fantastic, exceedingly polite and helpful and very considerate with regards to the children sleeping when they were cleaning. They left little messages for our 3yr old whose teddies were found reading which our daughter just loved. The property was lovely and spacious, layout worked really well for us all. Equipment good quality, everything you need and more, and the house very clean. The village was typically French, had everything you needed, locals very friendly and willing to assist our 3yr old practicing her newly learnt French! It really was lovely being able to walk into the village and not having to get in the car all the time. Beaches lovely sandy stretches ideal for children as water shallow, lots of good facilities also by the beach.​ Web-site information – Excellent Sales Team Service – Excellent The booking process – Excellent Cleanliness of the property – Excellent Overall Holiday experience – Excellent Mr & Mrs R from Surrey - July 2014
 
We found the accommodation to be very well equipped and the garden secure which was important for our children. The maintenance team were helpful, friendly and informative and dealt with our queries very efficiently. The proximity of the property to the Village of Angles was excellent, with plenty of amenities, our favourite being the fantastic bakery! Mrs H from Hampshire - June 2014
 "We had a nice stay in this great villa. Nice village and good beaches at La Tranche. The booking process and attentiveness from the holiday support staff has been first class. We really had a great time in Le Palmier and cant think of much that was missing. Just a week wasn't long enough!" Mr S from Sussex - September 2013 "We had a fantastic time at Le Palmier. The children's toys, garden and pool have been wonderful and kept the boys entertained for hours. We have loved the sitting outside for a BBQ, breakfast and lunch in the covered large seating area. It is also helpful and concerned when they knew our granddaughter was unwell. They are an asset to your company." Mrs D from Lancashire - August 2013 "We found Le Palmier spacious even though there were nine of us staying there. The beds were all very comfortable. The big projector screen and the wide selection of films were a big hit. The outside space is great. We used the barbecue several times and ate outside at least once every day. The pool provided hours of entertainment and is kept very clean and pleasantly warm. There are plenty of comfortable chairs and we liked the fact that the pool was visible from the patio area and little garden. The washing line was very useful too! The maintenance team were very friendly and efficient." Mrs M from Warwickshire - August 2013 "We really enjoyed our week. We loved the location of the house as it was so easy to walk into the village. The shops and markets supplied most of our requirements though we did do a couple of supermarket trips too. The restaurants that we tried were very good and the tourist office was extremely helpful.We found the house spacious even though there were nine of us staying there. The beds were all very comfortable. The big projector screen and the wide selection of films were a big hit. Our teenagers were not impressed by the fact that the wifi did not work in any of the bedrooms, though from an adult point of view this was not necessarily a bad thing.The outside space is great. We used the barbecue several times and ate outside at least once every day. The pool provided hours of entertainment and is kept very clean and pleasantly warm. There are plenty of comfortable chairs and we liked the fact that the pool was visible from the patio area and little garden. The washing line was very useful too! The maintenance team were very friendly and efficiently sorted out a couple of problems with the house, including a broken tap. We also mentioned to them that the toilet seats could do with replacing as they were both rather stained and wobbly. The bathrooms are probably a weaker area of the house and it would be lovely if the front bedroom had a proper en suite rather than a bath with a curtain.We would definitely consider returning to Le Palmier and all agreed that our week there had passed too quickly."   Mrs M from Worcestershire - August 2013 "From start to finish this has been a wonderful holiday enjoyed by all. Le Palmier is amazing, equipped with everything you could ever need. The array of DVD's and toys kept everyone entertained and having the internet and sky was an added bonus. Location fantastic with so much to do in the area. We honestly can’t think of a single improvement you can make!" Mr and Mrs D from Glossop - July 2013 ​"The size of Le Palmier was great and the layout perfect for two families sharing." Mrs C form Petworth - June 2013 ​"Everything ran smoothly and we were delighted with Le Palmier and the facilities. Your cleaners were excellent and dealt with everything very promptly. The big pull for us to Le Palmier is the layout, especially the living space as we had 3 under 3's! Being able to walk to the village for breakfast and bread was very important to us and it was nice to use the new children's park in the village." Mr C from Hampshire - June 2013 "Booking process - simple and straight forward. The children's toys and equipment at Le Palmier were very good (I've never read so many children's stories!) Maintenance staff have been outstanding, unobtrusive and very good in all aspects. All in all a perfect place to spend a family holiday, just one problem, 10 days is not long enough!" Mr & Mrs M from London - May 2013 "Being a farmer it is very rare that we are able to get away for a holiday. We had quite simply the most relaxed, stress free, enjoyable week at Le Palmier in a superb holiday home. This house was just perfect for our 3 young children. Not to have to worry about parking, children's toys, buggies, story books etc. just made it so simple. Your cleaners are amazing with their attention to detail so a huge thank you." Mr and Mrs S from Deal - May 2013 Guest book from previous years..."This is the perfect place to stay if you have a few young children. the toys in the playroom and the big screen projection TV kept them occupied for hours, so we adults could enjoy the tasty local wines, mussels, and BBQ on the patio. the common area space is really large and we enjoyed family breakfasts and dinners every day. the catered dinner was also excellent - a real professional chef with the most incredible desserts. the location was charming, with much more to see in Angles and the surrounding towns than we expected. the espresso maker was a great touch, just be sure that everyone (mom in my case) knows they are not free before they polish them off! all the other amenities and extras in the place where complementary. overall a great vacation and some place we would definitely visit again."  "We've just had a super week at Le Palmier. The layout was ideal for two families sharing, and the Wii and home cinema were perfect for much needed "chill out time" when the children were exhausted from a day on the beach, or cycling. Though the pool might have been busy, being shared with two other properties, in fact, we had it to ourselves almost every time. The pool was ideal for the children (5 in total), aged 4 - 9, who appreciated the shallow area and that it was warm.A day out on the Ile De Re was loved by everyone, as was a visit to Puy Du Fou, and the Indian Forest (bring trainers for that). The beaches in the area are gorgeous, and if you go in the early part of the day, much quieter than if you go late afternoon with the locals. The market in Angles, as well as boulangerie and the small supermarket are a short walk away, and perfect for necessities, whilst the larger supermarkets which are a few minutes in the car provide everything else you could need.Excellent value for money, even with the rotten exchange rate at the moment!" "Had a great holiday at this beautiful gite this summer. A real "home from home" with all the facilities we needed to hand - the kitchen was well equipped and everything very clean. The kids really enjoyed the pool and there were plenty of games, toys and dvds to keep them occupied on days we didn't venture out.The location is fantastic, near the beach and lots of attractions in the area. We can really recommend a visit to Puy du Fou! Sunshine, swimming and cheap wine - great!" "From our initial contact the process of booking was very easy. When we first arrived the children were very happy when they saw the lovely pool....:) We were quite amazed with the size of the Gite, i don't think this really comes across in the pictures. Inside and out was a credit to the owners. What was really helpful as well where all the games and book etc, saved us having to bring them all with us. The location of the Gite was great, it was a short walk to the shops, coffee shops and restaurants.The beach which is close as well was lovely, and there was a great little restaurant on the way to it. I have already recommended the Gite to several friends. I look forward to our return." "We stayed in Le Palmier in September 2012 and had a wonderful holiday. Our party comprised grandparents and two couples with 3 small children between us. It was great having all the toys and DVDs available to entertain the little ones and not having to ferry lots of baby gear with us (they even supply a buggy!)The villa was clean and I don't think the photos did the property justice. The location is great as you can stroll into the village and it's just a short drive to the lovely beaches. We'll definitely be returning."   "Being able to simply walk to the village for a good meal out with the kids was just perfect, your gites are in the perfect location for a family with children and we couldn’t have asked for any more toys to entertain the kids - thanks so much" "I have just booked our return visit to Le Palmier in August of this year. We holidayed there last year and had such a great time but I forgot to write my review! We booked last January and the booking process was pretty easy, dealt with the sales office who supplied all the info we needed so that we could make our decision (we were looking at three gites at the time). The thing that swung it for us at Le Palmier, was the excellent children's facilities which we couldn't find anywhere else. That and it being in a village, close to the beach and all the village facilities were our main criteria. It didn't bother us that the pool was shared and in any case my kids meet some lovely kids in the two neighboring properties so they were very happy.In the gite was an excellent folder listing all local restaurants and places we could take the kids. In the past we always find these, but typically, on the last day so this made a pleasant change! We particularly enjoyed the forest adventure which was only 5 minutes from the gite and the boys loved the go-carting which again was only 5 minutes away. We spent a lot of time on the beaches (you will find loads of different entrances most with free parking). Our personal favorites though, was Les Conches and La Terrier which are both sandy and great for the kids approx. 10 minutes away on a good run. We did venture down to La Tranche, but it was extremely busy and a bit difficult to park which was a shame, tip though, do what we did - park outside the village and cycle in! A must though if you go, look for the ice cream stand half way down on the right to the beach, the best ice cream we have ever had! Le Palmier itself was extremely well designed for two families sharing as we basically had our own 'wings' as it were! We had the 4 poster bedroom with the en-suite Jacuzzi bath. Never had a Jacuzzi bath in the bedroom before but it really was sheer bliss. Our friends also had a 4 poster bedroom and their own bathroom which they shared with their kids, so this made it extremely easy each morning and when we were getting ready to go out. One thing we were not expecting was how much we all loved the projector TV. It was brilliant. Also the owners have supplied so many films, books, magazines, there was no way we could get through them all in the time, but it was great to have them supplied. The toys alone kept our kids busy and entertained for ages, which of course allowed us parents to relax. Really if you visit, you do not have to take any toys with you. ​ ​We did have to call the maintenance line once but they came over within a few hours and sorted everything out for us immediately. The chap also took the time to explain a few more things regarding the area which we found extremely helpful in particular regarding the markets which we were keen to visit. The village of Angles was lovely, a real French feeling to it. It was just a couple of minutes walk on the flat and had all the things we needed on a daily basis. The Sunday morning market was huge and fun to walk around buying the great cheeses and wonderful meats for our Sunday lunch. Also the fish mongers in the village was a huge hit for us with all that lovely fresh fish each day as was the fruit and veg shop next door. We became regulars with some of the restaurant owners and they were always so pleasant and welcoming. Although you did have to wait a while for your food, as it was so busy, we took our time and just enjoyed the experience.Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we can't wait to get back there!" ​"We stayed in Le Palmier mid June 2011 for a week, we were a party of 4 with 2 young children. After a long drive down from Cherbourg, we arrived in Angles and found the house easily. Pulling on to the drive we were a little underwhelmed at the property, it looks no bigger than a two bedroomed cottage. But looks are very deceiving, it’s huge!. It’s a converted farm house and was decorated to our tastes the main living area and kitchen is open plan and was so easy to relax in.It was spotless clean and had been carefully prepared ready for our arrival, the owners had obviously catered for children as their room was full of toys and books had even had a train set build ready for playing with.The property has Wi-Fi Broadband a large screen and projector connected to SKY with all the movie channels which the kids loved and was great for the adults when the children were asleep.Outside is a large heated pool which is shared with the other Gites. Security around the pool is excellent and didn’t have any problems letting the children play in the surrounding gardens as the pool area is double locked at all times.The village of Angles is only a few minutes walk away and has plenty shops and restaurants, although because we didn’t holiday in high season, we found the some of the restaurants we closed. It’s certainly a sleepy village with only the odd local strolling about. We tended to do a main shop in the supermarket which is about 15 minutes from the Gite.The nearest beach at La Tranche sur Mer is about 10 -15 minutes away, there’s plenty of free parking and the sandy beaches run for miles. There’s a lot to do in the surrounding area Chateaus, Aquariums and a theme park, but a car is an absolute necessity as most venues at least 20 minutes away.Communication was excellent with the company who let the property and they provide a local number to call if you have any issues during your stay.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to friends who were after a luxurious relaxing break."  "As an independent Lettings Expert working with Tots To Travel, it is my job to visit gites and holiday homes to evaluate their suitability as child friendly holiday destinations. I am so impressed with the location, design and facilities at these properties, they have included everything possible to ensure that children of all ages (and Mums and Dads too) have a wonderful holiday - they really do have it all!" ​"It is a few weeks now since our stay, and the first time we have stayed in this gite, Le Palmier. The others in the Gites in Angles group were booked out already. I wish we had booked this one before, it's huge living space made everything so easy with growing teenage kids wanting to sprawl on sofas for several hours a day and spend ages grooming themselves. Thank goodness for two bathrooms. The open plan kitchen was well equipped and adequately separated from the lounge area. The bedrooms were good sizes and the villa as a whole was a good base for us. We would stay in this gite again.The weather was chilly so we didn't try the pool.We have stayed in the area before and love it. The village has everything, bakers, bar, cafe, restaurants, there is a lot of activity daily. We did drive down to the beach at La Tranche sur mer, just a few minutes by car and had some bracing walks along the sand. We found a couple of great restaurants that we hope to come back to at some point. L'Etage and L'Atlantique (although meat a bit too rare for me in the second one)."  “Overall the property was very clean and well presented. We were very impressed. We loved the local beaches – La Tranche was our favourite. We had a great holiday thanks!”  “Can we please say thank you to our house keeping/ maintenance team. They were really friendly and helpful and answered any questions we had.”  “Children’s play equipment very pleasing. Pool equipment good. Maintenance support very pleasant, friendly and quick to respond. Decent size bathrooms. We have visited this area many times in past, though not Angles – very nice village – well served. Good beaches nearby and had an excellent meal at La Trattoria in Angles.”  ​ "Having never stayed in self catering before I was slightly nervous about booking this villa but any fears I had disappeared as soon as we arrived at La Palmier - it was exactly as the lady on the phone had described, if not better! La Palmier is spacious, well furnished & in a fantastic village location. Everything is supplied so you don't need to worry about taking things with you (stupidly we had packed games etc for the younger members of the group but these were not needed as there were numerous games, toys, dvds etc already there). The swimming pool is great & the beaches are closeby. All in all the trip was a great success." 

 

Thank you again to our clients who have taken the time to write to us.

Subscribe for discounts